Nuclear Weapons in the World

Nine states have nuclear weapons today: the United States, Russia, Great Britain, France, and China, which are Member States of the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT); India, Israel, and Pakistan, which are not parties to the NPT; and the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), which withdrew from the NPT in 2003 and conducted nuclear weapon tests in 2005, after which it declared itself a nuclear weapon state.

The DPRK conducted several additional nuclear tests and has tested intermediate and long-range missiles, although there was still no evidence in 2015 that the country had deliverable nuclear weapons. US nuclear weapons are deployed in several NATO states in western Europe: Belgium, Germany, Italy, Turkey, and Great Britain. Nuclear weapons are also deployed on warships in international waters.

An estimated 14 900 nuclear devices still remain worldwide. Ninety-five percent of these are possessed by the United States and Russia, with the remaining 1000 in the other seven nuclear-weapon states. Forty four countries have the capability to acquire nuclear weapons through their nuclear power- and research reactors.


Last update: March 15, 2017